Skip to content

Desiring something more

January 18, 2007

Have you ever wanted more out of life? Have you ever felt limited by circumstances, people, or events?

I was talking with a friend this week about how she and others in her family were going through a time of wanting more, wanting connection with people, and wanting meaningful, life giving relationships. What do you do when you want more? That is where I am at…desiring, seeking, pursuing, hungering for more. The last few weeks have been very slow in getting back to normal after the holidays here. The holidays end up a time of isolation and loneliness for me as most of my normal contact with people and events stop and others go off to be with their families. Then Western Washington experienced winter storms and weather related issues. We have been isolated, locked up, and separated from each other. Most people I talk to are wanting out, wanting connection, wanting contact. We seem to be wired for that. So what do you do when that isn’t readily available? How do you find it and make it happen in life?

My heart’s cry right now is for more….more connection, more depth, more life, more love, more relationship, more truth, more God, more reality, more transparency, more honesty……..more. It isn’t something I find a lot of others wanting or even understanding, which unfortunately leaves the desire for more growing even stronger.

I feel like Belle in Beauty and the Beast.
“I want much more than this provincial life!
I want adventure in the great wide somewhere, I want it more than I can tell.
And, for once, it might be grand to have someone understand”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

