Skip to content

I will take what I can get…

January 19, 2007

I recently heard about someone who was desiring meaningful relationship and yet connections were not happening for them in ways that met their needs relationally. Their response was “I will take what I can get”.

How often is this our response to life? Rather than working for more, seeking something new, waiting patiently, or even turning to prayer we settle for what we can get. What are you settling with? Have you given up hope? Have you done all you can to change the situation? Have you given up on God changing the situation?

Settling for things is like eating food off of the very bottom. There are cultures where children eat last. Everyone gets to eat their fill before the youngest child, and they get whatever is left, if anything. Why would we settle for that? When I was in high school I was faced with a choice. My family could not afford to send my brother and I to college at the same time. So I had a few options, I could not attend college, I could wait until my brother was finished, or I could find another way to pay for it. I chose not to settle and I now hold two undergraduate degrees, one gradaute degree, have completed half of a second graduate degree, have completed three additional training/certification programs, and love to learn.

Are you just taking what you can get out of life?
Where are you finding meaning, value, and purpose?
Are you just taking what you can get in your relationship with God?
Have you given up the pursuit? Don’t loose heart!

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.  Hebrews 12:1-3

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

