Skip to content

What do we learn from waiting?

January 19, 2007

When was the last time you had something significant that you were waiting for? Not just a red light, a holiday, or the weekend, but something meaningful that you hope will happen, something you desire after. I am sure we all have those things, in fact we all are probably waiting right now.

For the last 8-9 months I have been looking for a home. Due to the prices of homes in Washington and the specific area I want to purchase I am having to wait. Waiting is hard. We want to be fulfilled in our desires now. God’s word says that He will give us the desires of our hearts. Some people believe that this means He will give them whatever they ask for. I believe it really means that as we grow in our relationship with Him our desires will change and become more aligned with His. Then, through the relationship He will grant us things that fulfill those desires, but it won’t always look like we want it to.

What is your reaction when you are waiting? Are you patient? Do you get angry? Do you give up and move on to something else?
This time around I am trying to choose to use my time wisely, and to take the time and the energy I could waste in being impatient or frustrated and instead invest it in the relationship with God. I do trust He wants the very best for me, and I hope to show that to Him in my devotion to Him while I wait to see what He will bring me. It might be He leads me in a different way and I don’t purchase after all. I have left that door open too as I give Him my heart and desires to hold while I wait.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

