Skip to content

Casting and following vision

January 22, 2007

I have been thinking about vision, and leadership a lot lately. It seems to be a theme that touches a lot of areas of my life, especially at work.

Although I have thought about this previously in life, vision and the casting of vision has never been as real to me as it has in the past year. Being part of a new church where vision casting has been important and critical for success has been an interesting learning process. I also have worked at two different jobs and with five different managers each with different vision. Currently at work I am under a new manager who has a very different style and thought pattern than the past manager. My manager is doing a great job of trying to gather information and listen to people before make broad sweeping changes, but has tipped her hand enough to let everyone know that changes will be coming. It has left those working under her leadership floundering for direction, purpose, and connections as we wait for her new vision to be cast.

“Where there is no vision the people perish.” (Proverbs 29:18 KJV) I have seen and experienced the truth behind this statement. Without vision and direction of where to go it is so difficult to follow and support. I have also experienced how powerful it can be to have a vision that others buy into and embrace. The truth is that most of the time I don’t find myself in either of those places, but instead find myself knowing, understanding, and embracing only part of someone’s vision. Depending on the situation this can either allow me the room I desire to get out of moving forward or leave me frustrated because I desire to understand and embrace more but lack what I need to make the missing connections.

If you don’t understand the vision and leadership of those you are following what is your response? I was faced with that question last week. It was a situation where I really care about the vision, the outcomes, and the people involved so I went to the leader and sought further direction and understanding. That can be a humbling thing to do because you are admiting your lack of knowledge and understanding, but sometimes it can open the door for wonderful interactions and connections to take place.

Where in your life are you following others vision? Are you following well and supporting your leader? Where are you casting vision? Are you casting vision in a way that others understand? Are you willing to admit when you don’t understand and ask for help along the way?

We are in this journey together, and no one has it all figured out. I hope you catch the vision of someone or something else. It is a powerful experience that can be used to change the world.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

