Skip to content

Teaming with others

February 1, 2007

I just listened to an interview with author/activist John Perkins, founder of Voice of Calvary  in Jackson, Mississippi. It has brought back a lot of memories. In 1990 I spent three months living in Jackson and volunteering with Voice of Calvary. I worked with John’s son. My time was spent mostly at a social service center providing assistance to those in need, assisting with after school clubs for kids, and assisting with other projects like community outreach, remodeling of shotgun houses, etc. It was a life changing experience, especially in my perspectives and mindset. (I also learned about cockroaches. YUCK!) I owe a lot of my education to Dr. Govan the social service director, and my work partner Colin who was from South Africa. Both men taught me a great deal about the plight of the poor and racially oppressed, and what can happen when people develop a heart to care and team with others.

The topic of teaming with others has been on my heart a lot lately. Teamwork comes in different forms, and looks different to people, but no matter how it is defined or exhibited the fact is we are more powerful, effective, and creative with others than we are alone. I want my life to be about sharing with others.

Where are you sharing with others, working in teams, partnering with someone else? I am left asking if my life is about me, or if I am reaching past myself and my selfishness in an attempt to team with others and live a life of meaning. It is so easy to work, eat, rest, take care of daily responsibilities, sleep, and then start it all over again. I hope that today becomes a day where something I do reaches beyond that. I wish every day could hold that same goal, but for now I will start with today!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. emmanuel permalink
    March 7, 2008 5:12 pm

    This is a concise and greatly edifying testimony

  2. March 8, 2008 7:46 am

    I am glad it impacted you. I believe we are meant to be connected to each other and are both stronger and more fullfilled when we live life in rich connections with those around us. Americans tend to lean more toward having an independence while many other cultures share greater connection. I believe the Bible teaches we are to be interdependent, not independent.

Leave a Reply

