Skip to content

Love the Lord your God with all…

February 8, 2007

“Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.” (Luke 10:27)

We are called to love God more than anything else in the world. Can you think of anything you love more than God? Is there anything or anyone you would not give up for God?

I have been challenged lately by the fact that I am choosing to spend time and energy in a lot of places other than in my relationship with God. My actions tell me (and God) that I love other things more than I love him. The above scripture calls me to not just love God, but to do it with ALL of my heart, soul, mind, and strength. If all of me is focused on that priority then every priority I have flows from that.

My relationship with God is a privilege, not a right. He chose me, and continues to choose me and pursue me even when I fail him. My heart has been heavy the last few months as I have come to understand that for thousands of years God’s people have failed him and not listened to his wisdom and love. They have knowingly rejected him and abandoned him. I don’t want to continue that cycle. I want to be called one of God’s faithful followers and I want him to know that I love him more than life itself. Do I love God more than anything else? Unfortunately, the answer is no or my life would be different, but I am going to start over again today and try to reset my priorities and invest in that relationship and love because my desire is to answer yes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

