Skip to content

Why are you bursting my bubble?

February 15, 2007

Before Christmas I was talking with the junior high youth at my church about the Christmas story. I was pointing out some misconceptions about that story which have become mainstream ideas such as the points that no where does it say there are three wise men, and when the wise men arrived to see Jesus they came to “the house” (Matthew 2:11) not a stable.

One of the youth listened to me for a while and then asked, “Why are you bursting my bubble?” He was asking why I was giving him information that would change what he believes and what he had accepted as truth. My answer was, “Because I want you to know the truth. I want you to know the real story of God.”

How often do we run away from, hide from, ignore, or refuse to listen to the truth? Do we even know what the truth is? Do we make up our own version of the truth? I heard a speaker last year talking about truth and deception. He asked the crowd how we know when we are being deceived. The answer was, “You don’t!”. I like to turn that question around and ask, How do you know when you are being told the truth? Don’t you need to know what truth is before you can recognize it?

John 8:31-32 To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

