Skip to content

Worshipping with all

February 18, 2007

Last night I had the privilege to see a theatrical presentation of the Ten Commandments. This morning as I was preparing myself for the day, I found myself singing praises to God and thinking on the amazing story of Moses, Aaron, Miriam and others. One image stood out in my memory from last night, a scene where Miriam and the Israelites praised God. They were not just praising him with a song, a hand in the air, or simple words, but they were deeply and passionately involved in their worship and expression of love. They were involved with all of who they were: body, mind, and spirit.

At church today we sang a song with the words:
I will love you, I will praise You, I will serve You, I will trust You
With all my heart, with all my soul, with all my mind, with all my strength

How do you worship God? Are you loving/praising/serving/trusting with all of who you are? Would you be willing to laugh, dance, sing, shout, blow trumpets, fall on your face, surrender, and sacrifice for God? Do you worship with the way you dress, eat, talk, walk, live, care for others, manage priorities, manage money, etc?

I believe our actions flow from our heart and our values. I want to pursue God’s heart and his values. I want to learn to worship God with more of who I am and what I have.  I don’t want to worry about what someone thinks at church if I want to move to the music, sing loud, lift my hands, or get lost in the presence of God. May we all learn to love and worship God with more depth, passion, vulnerability, and humility, even in the face of incredible troubles and struggles such as the Israelites experienced.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2007 9:58 am

    Hi again, it is like a found a treasure chest here, may I add you to my blogroll?
    I think you are so right about our actions flow from our heart. I am new to christianity (born-again last year) baby here…lol…and I cant get enough from reading and learning about His ways. I have such a hunger for Him. I discovered this “blog thing” and cant stop posting and reading blogs. Anyways I let you go now…I am very happy to have found your blog!
    Keep it up
    God Bless You
    In Christ
    Andrea

  2. February 20, 2007 12:45 pm

    Andrea, I am glad you dropped by and found something to make you think or touch your heart. First, welcome to the family. That is so exciting that you have made a decision to share life with God. Nothing can compare with that choice. It is exciting you are hungering and thirsting for God. I too am experiencing that although I have been a believer for years.

    I was just thinking as I drove to work this morning how I didn’t have others to feed, mentor, or guide me when I first became a believer, nor did I have a place to ask questions. I hope you are finding places where you can be helped along the path. If this blog helps along the way..praise God. God doesn’t mean for us to be in this life alone, but instead to share life together. What an amazing time we live in where that can happen with people all over the world.
    ~Sherie
    P.S. Yes you can add me to your blogroll.

Leave a Reply

