Skip to content

Our scars

February 19, 2007

I stopped by the store on the way home from work tonight to pick up some ingredients for a dinner I was to provide for someone who had just had surgery. When I got to the checkout I noticed my cashier was a man with a grossly deformed face. I am guessing he had some type of tumorous growth. It affected one half of his head (eye, check, mouth, ear, etc.). I had wondered why this checkout line was shorter when I got into, and now I wonder if this man was the reason. As I stood waiting for the person in front of me to complete her transaction I thought of the scars this man carries. His were on his head and face so they were available for the world to see. To hide them would be extremely difficult. Instead of hiding this man found a job where he interacted with the public every day. The courage he showed by working there, and the integrity the store showed by hiring him greatly impressed me.

As I left the store I found myself continuing to reflect on the scars we all carry. I was making dinner tonight for someone with physical scars from surgery. I have a friend who is dealing with scars left from rejection she experienced in childhood. I carry scars from both physical injury and emotional/psychological experiences I have gone through in the past. I know of others who carry scars (emotional and physical) that they have inflicted on themselves. Some scars are easily seen by others, while other scars are hidden. How do we react when we encounter others’ scars? Do we react differently to some scars than others? Are physical scars more difficult? Emotional?

God asks us to love everyone. In 1 Samuel 16:7 it says, “But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.” ” As I stood in the store tonight I tried to see this man’s heart. I tried to look him in the eye, something he probably doesn’t get very often. I also realized how amazing God’s love is. He sees my heart and still loves me, scars and all.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

