Skip to content

Right now God, I don’t want to leave unchanged

February 19, 2007

One of the most moving pieces of conversation I have run across on a music CD comes from Shaun Groves on the Twilight album as he introduces a time of worship.

“Are you guys ready to worship with me tonight? Worship is not a song. Worship is my response to God with all that I am, to all that he is, all that he has done, is doing, and will do in me, through me, around me, and in spite of me, but it’s not just a song. Worship is our response with all of our lives, everything we’ve been given to all that God is. And so if we come in here to this place and we raise our hands and we raise our voices but we don’t stretch these hands out when we leave this place to feed the hungry and cloth the naked, and fight for the poor and for the oppressed, then what you and I have done is worshipped a singer or a song but not a God. So let me ask you again, are you ready to worship with me tonight?”

The next song on the album is After the Music Fades. One line really stands out to me. “Please take me, and break me. Right now God, I don’t want to leave unchanged. I never want to be the same.”

I was listening to this last night and I found myself weeping as my heart moved closer to God’s. Think how amazing life would be if we started to live with worship being a way of life where we are stretching out our hands toward others every day, and we are not leaving unchanged! That is the life I want! God is so transforming, and I don’t want to ever be the same as I was yesterday.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2007 8:33 pm

    Hi
    What beautiful words!
    Yes worship is not only for a certain time at church. Worship is a “lifestyle” as I call it. I worship my Father at all times 24/7. And there is another song..If we are the Body why arent His arms reaching, and so on…it is so true!
    Love your post
    In Christ
    Andrea

  2. February 19, 2007 8:39 pm

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

