Skip to content

Thinking about Lent in a new way

February 21, 2007

I was raised in a main line denominational church that observed the season of Lent. Although we didn’t see it as a time where we had to give something up or deny ourselves of things like other Christian groups, it was still a very important season in the church. Honestly though it was something I didn’t fully understand.

I have been thinking about Lent over the last few days, and wondering what I can do to observe this season in a new way so that it becomes more meaningful and purposeful. It is very easy for holidays, even Christmas and Easter to come and go without me paying much attention to them, at least proper attention.

As I have questioned if I should be giving something up or practicing penitence, an act of introspection where we take stock of our lives and our relationships to discover and change things in preparation for Easter. This is done to experience spiritual renewal through the act of sacrifice and to seek a way to make things right in our relationship with God and others.

What I keep coming back to is that God doesn’t want our lives to be about denial, but instead it should be about acceptance and abundance. He did sacrifice, but only because he knew with certainty that something greater would come through that sacrifice. His sacrifice wasn’t about denying himself something, but instead it was about achieving something of greater value. Denial isn’t wrong, and it can certainly bring us awareness and draw us closer to God. Rather than spending the next 46 days denying myself though, I am going to approach this time to see what I can gain and glean. How many truths, values, and insights can I take to heart? What can I apply to my life so that it will be different? What can I gain so that I know God better and can serve him more? How can I recognize and associate with his sacrifice and the goals he sought to achieve through it by Easter? I hope to have many things to share come Easter Sunday, and I hope I am different inside and out.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 21, 2007 6:19 pm

    I agree.I think it is about reflecting and waiting on God more than denial.

    Have a blessed Lent.

    Steve.

    http://newpsalms.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

