Skip to content

Is it what you understand or don’t understand?

February 25, 2007

“It’s not what I don’t understand in the Bible that worries me; it’s what I do understand.” Mark Twain

I have been wrestling with some questions lately and as I was reading the book Seismic Shifts by Kevin G. Harney I came across the above quote by Mark Twain. It made me stop and reflect. It isn’t what I don’t know about the Bible that stops me from reading or limits my relationship with God. I don’t know what I am missing out on. Instead, it is what I already understand. I don’t always like what I read, in fact sometimes I strongly dislike it because it brings such conviction or it challenges me to change my way of life.

Have you ever hesitated to open the Bible? Was it because you didn’t understand, or because you really did understand and scared you?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

