Skip to content

An inheritance

February 26, 2007

Growing up, my family life was secure and stable, and I was loved. Many of my friends in high school came from broken and/or abusive homes so I was very thankful for the family life I had. There was a problem though, an underlying question that left some significant impacts on my life. I questioned if I was adopted. I now know I wasn’t, but for a number of years it was a doubt and question that remained unanswered. There are a variety of issues that led to the conclusion, but the lack of evidence that I wasn’t adopted was the biggest area of concern. There were no pictures of me as an infant, no pictures of my mom when she was pregnant, and no birth certificate. There wasn’t anything to prove my birth.

Those doubts and questions shaped my life in significant ways. For a number of years I had to cope with insecurities and uncertainties that affected my self-esteem, my relationships with others, and especially my relationship with God. I questioned God’s love and care for me. Because I questioned the relationship I had with my earthly parents and family, I questioned whether the relationship with God was honest and real. I couldn’t understand why he would want someone like me.

I just came across this story about a boy who faced insecurities and ridicule because he grew up without a father.

Just about the time I got to the door, I felt a big hand on my shoulder. I looked up and the preacher was looking right at me.

“Who are you, son? Whose boy are you?”

I felt the old weight come on me. It was like a big, black cloud. Even the preacher was putting me down. But as he looked down at me, studying my face he began to smile a big smile of recognition. “Wait a minute,” he said, “I know who you are. I see the family resemblance. You are a son of God.”

With that he slapped me across the rump and said, “Boy, you’ve got a great inheritance. Go and claim it!”
(“Belonging” Stories for a Teen’s Heart by Alice Gray, comp. p316.)

Realizing that I had a Father who truly loved me and choose me had incredible impact on my life. He didn’t have to love me. He knew intimate details about me before we met and he still chose to pursue me, declared he wanted me, and was willing to go to great lengths to win my heart. If you are a Christian, you too are a son or daughter of God. You too have a great inheritance. It doesn’t matter what your family was growing up, or what family you are a part of now, you have a heavenly Father who loves you more than anything you can compare it to.  Are you resting secure in God’s love, or doubting that he could care for you enough to make a difference? You have a great inheritance. Believe it and go claim it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

