Skip to content

Are we desperate and lost?

March 2, 2007

A popular worship song, Breathe by Marie Bennett contains the words,

And I, I’m desperate for You
And I, I’m lost without You

I was listening to this song the other day. I have heard it hundreds of times and it is one I have been known to meditate on with my guitar, but this time the depths of the words really struck me.

Do we know what it is to really be desperate for God? Do we live in a place where we need him that intensely? Have you ever been really desperate in life or so lost you couldn’t proceed without help? There have been a few times in my life where I have been in such need for God that I have been unable to physically or emotionally move forward without his help. I have cried out for his direction, guidance, and aid. I admit that I don’t live there daily though. Too often I live determined that I can make it on my own. I feel like I am always asking God for more so I back off and try to manage life without him. I have been hurt and let down by others so I tend to err on the side of not asking and receiving from them, rather than allowing myself to be vulnerable and be hurt again.

This week has been one of those times where I am learning to cry out to God again. It is a time where I should be reaching out to others yet I don’t know how. At least I can admit that. Showing it and sharing it will take a little more courage, but I am working that way.

None of us want to feel desperate or lost, but to be poor in spirit we need to live in a place where we realize and admit we are desperate and lost without God. We need his people to support, encourage, uplift, and share life with us. I pray you experience the need for God and his people this week. May you have the courage to admit your need. May you the kingdom of heaven be yours. “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.” (Matthew 5:3)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

