Skip to content

Like a scalpel…

March 3, 2007

When I was fifteen years old I was standing at the back of my father’s car in a parking lot changing my shoes while talking with a friend. Another car opposite us backed out of their parking stall and pinned my leg between the two cars. When my leg was free we found a large gash had been made in the back of my calf. With the aid of ice and bandages we were able to stop the bleeding and travel home (we were about three hours from home). As I went to the doctor a day or so later to have the wound checked I learned that we should have sought better medical care. I should have received stitches. Because I did not have stitches installed my doctor had to remove the existing scab and treat the wound anew. The pain of having the scab removed was more intense than the original injury. The doctor did not intend to cause me pain, but he knew that only through cutting open the wound could real healing occur. Only by removing the results of my poor decisions and actions could my wound heal completely without leaving permanent scars.

“There are times when we read the Bible and the truth of God’s revelation comes to us like a surgeon’s scalpel. We feel the word cut deep to reveal the cancer of sin that dwells in us. But what we must remember is that God cuts not to wound but heal. Like a skillful surgeon, he penetrates deep and removes attitudes, and covers actions, and cuts out evil motives. Nothing is hidden from God, and he will take the razor-sharp edge of the scalpel and operate for our own good. Those who have gone under the knife and had a successful operation know how thankful they are afterward.” (Seismic Shifts by Kevin Harney)

My leg did heal, because of the great care I received. Our lives too will heal if we will allow God to reveal all the care we need, and allow him to provide that care.

For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joint and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. – Hebrews 4:12

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2007 4:03 am

    Hi, I compare it to pruning a tree. A gardener will prune his tree so that it produces fruit, if the tree produces fruit, he prunes it more, so that the tree produces more fruit and better fruit.So God prunes us for the same reason, that we not get to comfortable in our christianity and think well I produced enough of fruit. He wants more and better fruit from us.
    Like your post, thanks
    God Bless
    Andrea

  2. March 4, 2007 3:46 pm

    I agree. Sometimes we forget that pruning is an act of love. It may not always feel good, but it leads to great results.

    If we are not moving forward and growing in our relationship with God then we are losing that relationship. There is no such thing as “neutral gear” when it comes to our relationship with God.

Leave a Reply

