Skip to content

What can I do?

March 12, 2007

I take seriously Jesus’ call to be a person who cares about others and to offer who I am and what I have openly. Sometimes that is hard to live out, but I believe it is what I am made for. Lately I have been touched by many that are talking about the poor and needy and how we need to share with them and care for them. I absolutely agree, but my heart beats in a different direction. Our world tends to first notice those who are rich, famous, and of celebrity status. All others seem to pale when those people are present. When we get over that and realize we need to be more giving, we turn to the poor and needy. That is a wonderful thing and those people need us immensely, but what about everyone else?

My heart is for those that are left behind, unincluded, overlooked, lost. Just like the middle child can be left to feel unimportant in life, there are many common people that we pass on the street every day that feel lost, left out, unchosen, and overlooked. I have been thinking and praying a lot about how I can be a better community member, neighbor, church member, and friend. How can I live in such a way that I set an example, reach out to others, help people feel accepted and cared for, and acknowledge  those stuck in the middle? There is an unspoken crisis with those of us in the middle where we need to connect with others, be cared for, feel important, and find meaning and value in life.

What can I do to meet a need, show love to, and support those who aren’t rich and famous, nor poor and needy? What are the greatest needs for these people who are just trying to make it through life every day? I don’t want to just throw money at a need. I want to pour my life into others. How can I support their marriages, help care for their kids, encourage them to take care of their health and finances, lend a hand or an ear during a time of need? Can I provide ways for them to document information on their children in case of an accident or abduction? Can I support an organ donor awareness drive? Can I hold an information sharing session on Internet safety, financial planning, or some other topic? Can I do things to draw my community and neighbors together so they connect, form relationships, and become more of a “community”?

I don’t want to live in an isolated Christian community of believers who are like me. I want to live a life of worship sharing all I am and all I have with those God has placed in my sphere of influence. What a world of opportunities lie before me! What a responsibility I have to do something about it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

