Skip to content

Prayer for my pastors and church comes from discovering a desire for God

March 14, 2007

Over that last couple of weeks I have been going through a time of learning, growing, and having my eyes opened. I had been looking forward to make decisions about my future, and found I needed to stop to look at my past. I needed to understand why I was making the decisions I was making, why I was nursing the fears I let drive me, and why I believed the things I believe. At first the process was painful, and my reaction was to try to make the pain stop. After all who willingly chooses to be in pain.

However I soon realized that I needed to discover how deeply I desire God, and that discovery brings pain. “When that desire is discovered, we wake up to the new world of passion, a quiet world where intense desire never disturbs rest. Worship and prayer become our favorite things to do.” “It comes down to this: God’s best is available only to those who sacrifice, or who are willing to sacrifice, the merely good. If we are satisfied with good health, responsible children, enjoyable marriages, close friendships, interesting jobs, and successful ministries, we will never hunger for God’s best. We will never worship. I’ve come to believe that only broken people truly worship.” (Shattered Dreams by Larry Crabb)

The last two evenings I have had the tremendous experience of being able to spend a quantity of time in quality prayer. A few weeks ago I shared about how I have been praying for my pastors. That has intensified over the last few days and a lot of my prayer the last two nights has been for them. I want my church to survive (new church plants face a lot of opposition). I want my community to grow, and my church family to have a passionate and meaningful relationship with God both individually and corporately. No one can influence that more than the pastors. My prayer supports my pastors. I pray that they are learning to desire God deeply, learning to speak and lead with biblical principles, and have the wisdom to know when they are sharing biblical wisdom as opposed to personal or cultural insights. I pray for the relationships and interactions they have, that those will be healthy and bring life to parties on both sides. I pray they are learning to live as broken people and having that brokenness inspire them to deep worship and prayer. I hope God will take them through refining processes like what I have been going through. It is painful (I’m sorry pastors!) but it is what I hope for them because I know it is what will make a difference in their lives, in my life and in the lives of those in my community. I want to see people grow and change because of the love of God and I hope my prayers open the doors a little further for that to happen.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2007 1:24 pm

    if we are satisfied …we will never hunger… that is food for thought. Thanks for posting

  2. March 15, 2007 7:32 pm

    I think the only thing that can ever satisfy us is God, and because we live on a broken and sinful world that separates us from him we will never experience lasting satisfaction here. God’s word tells us “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.” (Matt. 5:6) I believe we are to hunger and thirst, but not for the things of this world. There will be times where our hunger is filled, yet there wil be other times where I feel we are called to hunger, thirst, and even suffer. God loves us intensely and knows that hungering is sometimes the very best thing we can experience. Thanks for sharing and making me think about it more!

Leave a Reply

