Skip to content

New life

March 18, 2007

I find it amazing how new life makes us think of positive things and blessings, and how it brings us hope. It doesn’t matter if that new life comes from plants coming alive in spring, people coming into the Kingdom of God, or new babies being born. I was blessed last night with the birth of a brand new “niece” (a title given to designate my role in the child’s life, not my blood or marriage connection to them). Seeing her arrive, knowing what the last nine months has held, and knowing the expectation surrounding her arrival made the event so meaningful. It wasn’t just about the arrival of the new life though, it is also about what comes next. The arrival of the new life isn’t the entire process, but only the first step.

I hope I can remember that as I look at people’s lives. Whatever it is that brings new life into the lives of the people around me (babies, faith, marriage, character changes, etc.) I hope that I can remember that it is only the beginning and my role in their life is to walk through it with them, not abandon them after that first step. I want a heart of love that reaches out to others not just once, but repeatedly because life isn’t about just a one time event, but is about a process where we need others involved every day of our lives. How can we encourage others to grow, learn, develop, and inspire them to another round of new life?

(Graecilyn was born at 12:16 A.M. March 18th. Mom, baby, and family are all doing great!)

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 25, 2007 4:20 am

    Thank You

Leave a Reply

