Skip to content

Does trust have to be earned? (part 2)

March 26, 2007

A few days ago I posted about whether trust has to be earned. Sometimes I find God puts things to the test when I am learning. He did that this week regarding whether I would trust someone who hadn’t earned it. The other night I was in a remote area after dark and I found a gentleman stranded on the side of the road. I knew it was unlikely for anyone else to come along for a while and it was dark, cold, and rainy. Would I trust stopping for a strange man when I was the only person in the car? Would I offer to assist him? Would I risk it when I was out of my cell phone service area? Would I show him grace as he had done nothing for me to distrust him? I did stop and I drove him to a phone. Yes, it was a risk, one I prayed through the entire time we were together. I am very thankful that God kept me safe, but also very thankful I was given the opportunity to help someone in need and to learn more about trust.

Do you notice when something God is trying to teach you is put to the test?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

