Skip to content

In pursuit of quietness

April 1, 2007

According to Romans 14:12 (“So then, each of us will give an account of himself to God.”)  we will have to give an account of ourselves including things like our actions, inactions, decisions, and thoughts. This scripture gives me reason to pause and look at how I am living and what I am doing with my life.

I have been reminded lately that I talk too much and listen too little. I have one mouth and two ears, and should use them accordingly. Often though as I relate to people I finding myself jumping in too much, talking too soon, and sometimes not listening to what they are saying because thoughts of what I want to say are swimming through my head instead. I want to be more patient with myself and especially with others, to learn to listen more, and to learn how to not just hear the words but to hear the heart, passion, and message that is being communicated in the words.

“Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” (1 Peter 3:4) I have been trying to practice quietness, not just in my interactions with others, but also in my daily life. The more I practice quietness in my life the more I hope it will become a value I embrace and pursue.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

