Skip to content

Circle of Life

April 14, 2007

Saturday, April 14, 2001 I went to visit my ailing father. We knew he was dying of cancer and had only a short time left with us. When I arrived at the house that morning I learned that he had taken a drastic downward turn overnight.

More than 30 years earlier my father made a choice to conceive a child. He expectantly waited for me to arrive, fed me, cared for me, and placed me in bed to sleep. That day it was my turn. I sat with him as he was unable to communicate or even move on his own. I went through pictures, stories, and memories. It was a time of reflecting on the life he led. At lunch I fed my father his last meal, just like he had fed me some of my first. I then cared for him and placed him in bed to sleep, expectantly waiting for his departure.

Dad, I miss you. I wish you could have stayed longer and shared more with me, but I know it was your time to go. So on a day just like today I sat beside you and said goodbye. I still miss your presence in my life, but I know we all have a time to be born and to die. Thank you for all you gave me and all you taught me. I was honored to have you as my father and my friend.

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven: a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot.” (Ecclesiastes 3:1-2)

From the day we arrive on the planet
And blinking, step into the sun
There’s more to see than can ever be seen
More to do than can ever be done
There’s far too much to take in here
More to find than can ever be found
But the sun rolling high
Through the sapphire sky
Keeps great and small on the endless round

It’s the Circle of Life
And it moves us all
Through despair and hope
Through faith and love
Till we find our place
On the path unwinding
In the Circle
The Circle of Life
(Lyrics by Tim Rice)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

