Skip to content

Follow….if you dare!

April 14, 2007

I have been dialoguing with some others via email the last few days. The topics have included passion, what we believe, why we believe it, and how we want to live and serve because of that. The conversation has again awakened in me the deep passion I have for Christ. At the same time, a sermon I listened to this week has reminded me of God’s character. Lately I have been acting like Christ is small, nice, gentle, and predictable. I don’t believe that! I believe Christ is huge, wild, passionate, challenging, and unpredictable. Following him is dangerous, and it should push us way out of our comfort zone.

Christ was beaten, tortured, betrayed, and crucified. If we live lives that reflect Christ, should we expect some of the same hostility from the world? Will following him carry a cost?

Christ asked us to follow him. He didn’t tell us where he was going. He didn’t tell us what it would involve. He just asked us to follow. Do you love and trust him enough to follow? Do you have the guts? Do you dare? You are being called, and invited. Are you going to follow him? How far would you go? Will you live a life of unquenchable worship for a dangerous and unpredictable God?

“Too often my worship is tamed by the complications and struggles of this world.  But I long to be in a place were my fire for God cannot be quenched or washed away, even by the mightiest rivers of opposition-I long for worship that can never be extinguished.” (The Unquenchable Worshipper by Matt Redman)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

