Skip to content

How long is it since you were really bothered?

April 17, 2007

“We need not to be let alone. We need to be really bothered once in a while. How long is it since you were really bothered? About something important, about something real?”
Ray Bradbury

I am not sure I completely agree with the above quote, but it does make me stop and think. I went through a time a few weeks back where I was “really bothered” by some things I saw around me. Our world has some pretty significant problems and is not doing a good job at listening to and living by God’s standards. I want to be someone who does live by those standards and who is daily challenged to move closer to God in the way I live. 

Matt Redman states, “We become intercessors-people who see the gap and long to stand in it. God imparts to us his heart for restoration, and a burning desire to see his love and justice heal the nations. But if we were really to have integrity in our worship, somewhere along the line this desire has to turn into action: share our food with the hungry, clothe the naked and satisfy the needs of the oppressed (see Isaiah 58: 7, 10). We cannot be worshippers who simply walk by, ignoring the realities of this broken world.  God longs to bring us to the place where we ache so much with his heart that to do nothing is simply no longer an option.” (The Unquenchable Worshipper by Matt Redman)

God, I want a heart like that. I want to seek, know, and walk with a heart that sees and aches for this world like you do. I know that to have a heart like that will bring me a heavy burden to carry and will not bring me earthly happiness, however I value relationship with you far more than anything this world could bring me. Change and transform me to be more like you. Stir a desire in others also to be people who want integrity in the worship they live every day. Teach us how to be people who don’t just think and talk but truly act and live by your truth and your standards.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

