Skip to content

Do it all for the glory of God!

April 19, 2007

So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. Do not cause anyone to stumble, whether Jews, Greeks or the church of God— even as I try to please everybody in every way. For I am not seeking my own good but the good of many, so that they may be saved. Follow my example, as I follow the example of Christ. (1 Corinthians 10:31-11:1)

Every day we make decisions and take actions that affect others. We aren’t perfect, and yet as Christians we should always aim to be as similar to Christ, who was perfect, as we can be. Many times we do things that can have negative affects on others, hurting them, disappointing them, frustrating them, and even causing them to stumble. We may make comments that although they sound right when we say them are received incorrectly by those who receive them. We may make decisions or take certain actions that seem reasonable until we see them through others eyes.

Our goal should be living to please and honor God in everything we say and do. Our whole life should be an act of worship. If our actions cause someone to stumble we are hurting them and separating them from God. That would be a sin. We must be very careful to do nothing that will weaken or destroy the work of God in ourselves and in others. Whatever we do affects someone, including our inaction.

One of the greatest struggles I face as a Christian is how to walk in good relationship with others. I often say and do things that cause others pain or is not in their best interest. That grieves my heart, and I wish I could learn to live differently.  Others have also caused me to stumble. This week I have been hurt by the words and actions of someone else. I struggle to know if I should express that hurt. If I do, how can I be sure I am not judging them? How can I express my feelings without hurting the person in return? One answer comes in verse 33. Are we living to seek our own good, or are our actions and decisions for the best interest of others? If we live to please and honor God and seek the good of many, hopefully our words will be full of grace, love, and encouragement, not condemnation and judgment.

And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds. (Hebrews 10:24)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

