Skip to content

Representing God in all we say and do

April 21, 2007

How do you deal with change? I have been tested in that area this week. Overall I believe I cope with change very well, and in some ways I even encourage and welcome it in my life. This week has been filled with a little more than I would choose at one time though. It has left me looking at how I respond both inside and outwardly toward others.

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Philippians 4:8

Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. Ephesians 4:29

Do I think about positive things when change comes or do I focus on the negative aspect of the change, the stress, or what I am have to give up? Is it easier to think about things that are excellent or praiseworthy if the change is something I desire or is planned out? How do I express my attitude and my stress level toward others during change?

The latest change this week came yesterday at work when I was notified that we had a new deadline for a project. Without asking, it was assumed that I would do whatever was needed to meet that deadline. So plans went out the window and by the end of today I will have spent 25+ hours at work over the last two days. Am I thinking about what is excellent and praiseworthy? Has only wholesome talk come from my mouth? Have I only spoken what is helpful for building others up?

How do you deal with change? Do you represent God in all you say and do? Others are watching. Are you living in a way that shines the light of God to others even in the midst of stress, change, and disrupted plans?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

