Skip to content

Earnest prayer

May 1, 2007

Have you ever prayed for something earnestly? Longing, waiting, hoping, grasping, dreaming, or desiring to see God answer your request. On the night Jesus was arrested he went to the garden to pray. “Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.” An angel from heaven appeared to him and strengthened him. And being in anguish, he prayed more earnestly, and his sweat was like drops of blood falling to the ground.” (Luke 22:42-44).

Jesus prayed, and God answered. God sent an angel to appear before Christ and to strengthen him. After that, after he was strengthened…. Jesus didn’t stop praying, dry his eyes, and give up his pursuit after God. He was in anguish, so he prayed more earnestly, and he worked so hard he sweat deeply.

What an image for us! Even when God sent one of his closest messengers to offer aid and strength it wasn’t all that Christ needed or wanted. Christ continued to pursue, to ask, to seek, to hope.

Have you given up asking for or seeking for something? Have you felt like God already gave you an answer and the conversation is closed? If you are still in anguish, maybe now is the time to open that conversation again, to go to God with an earnest and open heart that is willing to work to hear and receive all that God has for you. It may take work, and even tears but if you are going to the feet of God I am certain you will not walk away with nothing.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jim permalink
    July 14, 2009 7:01 am

    Please pray that God will deliver me from unemployment and bless my finances. Please pray that God will heal my 28 year old son of the wounds he has incurred as a result of his mom, my wife (who loved Jesus) passing away due to pancreatic cancer. My son and I prayed continually and earnestly for her healing from the cancer and my son’s faith has suffered as a result of her death. He is currently living in a common law relationship and rebels from honouring God or his family. Thank you God for your healing love and answered prayer.

    • July 14, 2009 8:52 am

      Jim, your prayer brings tears to my eyes. I hear your honest and heartfelt plea for God to be active in your life and your acknowledgement that you need him. If I can hear that I know that God hears it. I will pray for you, but I also believe in faith that he has already heard your prayer and is responding. May you feel his presence in your life and may you see his work and blessings, even if they are not exactly what you might expect him to provide. I especially will lift up your son and his rebellion. I personally just came to see some sin in my life that I was blind to and rebelling from so I know how difficult that can be, but God is faithful. He has brought me out of it and I have confidence he desires to do the same for your son. Peace be with you my brother!

      Yes, thank you God for your unfailing healing love and all the answers you give us to spoken and even the unspoken prayers!

  2. For the Lord permalink
    October 23, 2010 3:57 am

    It is quite possible that when we ask for healing on our loved ones that God answers in many different ways. We need to remember that the effect of Christ on our lives is not just for this life alone but the one to come. When God delivers he has our spirit in mind. The flesh cannot please God so he saves our spirit so that the flesh can be in subjection. Though you prayed for healing God hears and delivers the suffering flesh.

    I am praying earnestly that your son will one day believe again. So that he can encourage others to believe in times of adversity. God bless!

Leave a Reply

