Skip to content

Keep on praying, building, and working, for God is with you!

May 20, 2007

I took today off from my normal church and went to another church. Due to helping with various responsibilities at church it is rare that I feel I can get away for a weekend. I was already planning to be gone next weekend, but today I needed a place where I could just “be” instead of doing. I needed to not serve, and not deal with relationships with expectations. I just needed a place to wait, listen to, and see God.

I went to a church I had never heard of and knew very little about, only what I had read on the web site. It was an amazing time of being with God and hearing him speak into my life. The music time was 35 minutes of uninterrupted worship of God. There were no announcements, transitions, or other things to break it up, just worship pure and simple. The lesson was long but filled with rich treasures of insights, wisdom, and God’s truth.

The sermon was “Keep on praying, building, and working, for God is with you!” It came from the book of Nehemiah. Here are the key points. Thank you Doug for a sermon that greatly impacted me. God used your words today to touch me and teach me. I needed it!
  • PRAY fervently and continually
      o Nehemiah 1:4-11, 2:4, 4:4-5 & 9, 5:19, 6:9 & 14
  • BUILD in unity and in your place
      o Nehemiah 3
  • WORK hard and with enthusiasm
      o Nehemiah 4:6 “the people had a mind to work” (NKJV)
  • BE PREPARED for BATTLE at all times
      o Nehemiah 4:9, 4:12-23
  • FIGHT for your FAMILIES and your CHURCH
      o Nehemiah 4:1 “fight for your brethren, your sons, your daughters, your wives, and your houses.” (NKJV)
  • MAKE RIGHT what’s been WRONG
      o Nehemiah 5
  • DO NOT QUIT or GIVE UP, and DON”T BE INTIMIDATED
      o Nehemiah 6:3, 6:11-12
  • REMEMBER – GOD IS WITH YOU AND HE IS WORKING!
      o Nehemiah 6:15-16

We are called to give God our best. He is the one that does the real work. He breaths life into what we do. Sometimes it seems that things aren’t happening and then suddenly something moves and things change. We need to keep praying, building, and working until we see that happen. What is God calling you to be a part of? Are you discouraged or intimidated? If God called you, he will give you all you need to see the work and the battle through. Don’t give up!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

