Skip to content

Finding security and significance

June 2, 2007

I have been reading a book where a question was asked that really caught my attention. It doesn’t have much to do with the book, but I think the answer to it reveals a lot about who we are, our stories, and how we view both God and the world.

“Where do you go in moments of shame to find security and significance?”

Part of why this question caught my eye is that I am dealing with shame from part of my own story right now. Recently someone shared part of my story with others, people I wound not have chosen to share it with. It is a part of my story that I feel great shame over, and that I am still working to come to terms with certain elements of this story. I don’t know exactly what was said, or what context it was shared in so the fact this sharing took place has left me feeling very insecure and exposed. Tomorrow at church I will have to face all of these people together for the first time, and I am left asking myself, “How will you deal with your shame and find security and significance?”

Living in shame is not part of God’s plan for us. He wants to change our stories by being a part of them and bringing good out of them. When we trust him, follow him, and live by his precepts he is able to do this. Where do we go in moments of shame? Is it a physical place, an emotional place, a spiritual place, or a combination of these? Do we invite God to be a part of that? Are we willing to share our shame with him and let him transform it into something else? I will be faced with that choice tomorrow. Will I stand before those involved in shame, or will I stand before God believing he can grant me security and significance, transforming my shame into something different? My fear is I will feel that shame, but my hope is in the fact that I have a choice and I don’t have to live in the shame. Do you find security and significance with God? Are you turning to someone or something else, a false god, for security? What can you do to take a step in the direction of letting God transform the areas of your shame?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2007 5:13 am

    Hi Sherie.

    I am so sorry that you are experiencing this. I have been praying for you the last several weeks even though I haven’t commented here. Years ago I began seeing what the Word of God tells me who I am. So in these kinds of times I always resort to claiming and trusting the eternal message His word proclaims as our identity in Christ. A few years after I began to discover these truths, Neil Anderson came to our church for several days. One of the basis of His ministry in on our identity in Christ !!

  2. June 3, 2007 1:18 pm

    Thank you for the prayers and the encouragement. It was a tough morning as I was not feeling well physically plus I was confronted by someone in a hurtful manner. Your point about identity is exactly where I turned. We do need to know who we are in Christ, and we need to stand firm in it, but also we need to know that the identity we have in Christ overcomes the identity we have with man.

    My church is just starting a series on relationships. I love a point my pastor made…it is a good thing to have relationships where we don’t all get along, feel comfortable, and where we experience conflict. If we all got along it actually wouldn’t be healthy. As I listened this morning knowing there were people in that room that I was in conflict with my heart broke with love for those people because I don’t need to look at them through my pain or struggle but with Christ I can see not only my identity in Christ, but also theirs. Now if only I could learn to treat others like they have the identity Christ gave them instead of all the broken ways I have used for the past several decades.

  3. Nicole permalink
    June 4, 2007 5:36 pm

    How awful to have someone you trusted share something that clearly is not their business to share. I will pray for your healing through this process and hope God will take away any shame you may feel.

    Luvies, Nicole

  4. June 4, 2007 7:28 pm

    Thanks Nicole. Your encouragement means a lot to me. The situation may not be what I would wish, but I have forgiven the person, and I understand that we all need someone to talk to. Things that are not told become secrets and that can become destructive. I know that God wants my life to be one of honesty, transparency, and authenticity. As I surrender to that more I may find that God will go to any length (even using others) to challenge that commitment and move me to a deeper level. Ultimately I know it is helping me along my path toward healing and wholeness and for that I can’t be mad or even hurt. I just hope relationship can be restored and trust can be built because I know it is God’s heart to have his people in unity and in meaningful relationship with each other.

Leave a Reply

