Skip to content

Taking God at His word!

June 3, 2007

A few months ago during Lent I blogged about wanting to approach lent as a time to gain and glean rather than give up. I asked several questions: How many truths, values, and insights can I take to heart? What can I apply to my life so that it will be different? What can I gain so that I know God better and can serve him more?

I have spent three plus months thinking a lot about this. Lately I have been really challenged by the concept of taking God at his word and really believing what he says. At my home group we talked a couple weeks ago about what is looks like to be a Christian. Someone said, “We are called to be different.” I still am not sure what that means, but if I take God at his word, really take him at his word and live by that, will it change things? Will my life be different? Will my life reflect God in new ways? God gives us many promises, but sometimes I doubt them. Is that because I don’t take him at his word?

I want to learn what it means to take God at his word, to live by his promises, and to have my identity in Christ. I am currently in the midst of job changes, relationship changes, shifts in priorities, schedule changes, and am wrestling with some health issues. What better time to cling to God in a new way and seek to learn to live in a manner of taking him at his word. My first goal is to remain in him, like this scripture from John states. If I take him at his word then my actions should lead to fruit, showing my relationship with him, and bringing him glory. I can’t think of better outcomes! Are you willing to take God at his word? What do you think this phrase really means?

John 15:7-8 “If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given you. This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    June 4, 2007 5:32 pm

    In the midst of all these changes, are you clinging to God differently than before? Can you see a difference?
    I have always wondered about “….ask whatever you wish, and it will be given to you.”
    Is that supposed to be literal?

    I love you my strong sister in Christ!

    Nicole

  2. June 4, 2007 7:18 pm

    Am I clinging to him differently? Probably not unfortunately. Isn’t there a saying that says something like “we are crazy when we do the same things and expect different results”. I am not sure I know how to do it differently, I guess that is my problem.

    Did you notice I skipped the “ask whatever you wish” part? I don’t see how it can be literal. I believe God wants the best for us and I know that if I was given what I wish or even whatever I pray for it would not be a good thing. I am not sure how to take that part of the verse but I think it has something to do with God’s word remaining in us. If He is in us I think our wishes should be different and hopefully are different than without Him in us.

  3. nicolesthoughts permalink
    June 4, 2007 8:43 pm

    So by being in God the things we wish are not of our own selfish nature, but of what God wants for us? That makes more sense to me.

  4. June 5, 2007 3:29 pm

    Sherie:

    Thought of this verse as I’ve read here:

    1 Thess 2:13 For this reason we also constantly thank God that when you received the word of God which you heard from us, you accepted it not as the word of men, but for what it really is, the word of God, which also performs its work in you who believe. NASB

    Great post. I find I the more I learn about Him the more I do not really understand. Thanks for sharing. I enjoy what you are doing so much!!

    Delany

  5. June 5, 2007 9:02 pm

    How amazing to accept a word as coming from this strange unseen God instead of looking at it as from those who spoke on behalf of God. I wish I could say I looked toward God as much as some of my biblical ancestors did.

    I went back and looked at the verses around the passge you referenced and I find I really like 2:11-12 also. “For you know that we dealt with each of you as a father deals with his own children, encouraging, comforting and urging you to live lives worthy of God, who calls you into his kingdom and glory.” I wish more fathers did deal with the their children by encouraging, comforting, and urging. I have found God to be a father who treats me in those ways, and for that I am very grateful.

Leave a Reply

