Skip to content

Being shaken, not stirred

June 13, 2007

This last week I have become aware of God speaking into my life in some new ways. Sometimes when God reveals himself in ways I recognize I find he is quiet and gentle, sometimes he is wild and outrageous. Sometimes he moves slowly, and other times he flips life on its head. Right now I am being moved internally, but I finally realized this morning that I am being shaken, not stirred. To be stirred means I am roused from inactivity and moved in a slight way. Instead, I say I am being shaken because I feel I am being moved all over (up, down, left, right, circular) with short, quick, forcible movements.

Nine months ago I was talking with my head pastor and I asked him how we are held accountable to God’s word. Are we held accountable to new truths as we learn them? Honestly I didn’t understand his answer, and I can’t even remember what he said. Since then I have returned to that question many, many times. I believe that as we draw closer to God and move into deeper relationship with him we will learn new things. This is part of maturing in our relationship and faith. As we learn those things God will challenge us to start living by those truths.

This week God has really been laying it on my heart to grow in my understanding of how my actions (good and bad) affect others in good and bad ways. Today in my quiet time I was really impacted by 1 Corinthians 8: 9 “Be careful, however, that the exercise of your freedom does not become a stumbling block to the weak.” Verse 12: “When you sin against your brothers in this way and wound their weak conscience, you sin against Christ.” And 1 Corinthians 10:31-33, “So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. Do not cause anyone to stumble, whether Jews, Greeks or the church of God— even as I try to please everybody in every way. For I am not seeking my own good but the good of many, so that they may be saved.” (It is best to read the whole passages in chapters 8 and 10.)

What struck me is how even things I think are good and permissible can still result in hurting others. Even if scripture doesn’t say it is wrong or sinful for me to do something, my choice to do it in certain contexts or around certain others (Christians and non-Christians alike) can result in it being a sin. It shows me how critical it is for us to have real relationship with others, relationships that go beyond the surface level interactions. Without really knowing those around me, I can so easily cause issues or hurt. My heart is grieved by knowing that I have likely done many things over the years that I thought were okay because the Bible didn’t call them wrong, but my actions hurt someone else because they were at a different place in life and faith than I was. Boy this relationship stuff (with God and man) is tough!

Thank you God for forgiving me when I do wrong, and for helping me to learn and grow so that I can do better in the future. I have such an incredible need for you in my life and show that to me more every single day. Please forgive me for my shortsightedness and help me to see any places where I need to go to others and ask for forgiveness for ways my behavior may have hurt them. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2007 2:55 pm

    Sherie: I see in you a love and closeness to our Lord that seems to just overflow. Scripture gives us a mirror’s image of ourselves with the result of us having a deeper understanding of our need for a Savior. Thanks for a glimpse of your relationship with Him so we all may pant for Him as the deer pants for the waters of the brook. (PS 42:1)

  2. June 14, 2007 6:18 pm

    I am so glad that God is seen through this blog. That is my desire not only for this blog, but for my life. I just want to be a genuine, authentic, and humble person who is seeking to live a life of active pursuit of relationship with those I love deepest, especially of God. I am just a person with a lot of shortcomings who is trying to not be casual about her life and faith, and who is hoping to bring glory to the only one who deserves it.

Leave a Reply

