Skip to content

Casual or intentional?

June 19, 2007

I was reading a blog a few days ago that touched upon the casualness that Christians can have toward their faith. That concept has been running around in my mind a lot since I read the post. When, where, and why am I casual about my faith and relationship with God?

Over the weekend I have been having some email dialog with someone from my church about what it looks like to follow God. She has been having a difficult time understanding the honesty I share through the doubts, struggles, fears, and questions I express. I explained to her that I don’t want to be casual about my faith, and that I am trying to be intentional about living a different type of life, one that is authentic and also transparent, one where I don’t feel a need to hide from others or present a false image of myself.

Was Noah casual in his faith when he built the ark? Was Moses casual in his faith when he led the exodus from Egypt? Was Joseph casual in his faith when he forgave his brothers and repaid their unkindness with love? Was David casual in his faith when he poured out his heart and soul into the Psalms?

Are you casual (informal, superficial, indifferent, lenient, occasional, nonchalant) about your faith, or are you seeking to be intentional (deliberate, done with purpose)? Are you living like one of those God called “after his heart”, a “righteous man”, “man of God”, “man of standing”, “man of insight”, “man of wisdom”, “man of integrity”, “man of understanding”, “man of peace”, or “man of truth”? What kind of man/woman are you seeking to be, and are you living in a way to become that type of person?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2007 4:06 am

    You use a powerful word…intention. I read this morning that obedience is saying “yes” when you have options.

    This is in the context of obedience versus conformity. I think many conform but that is rarely intentional.

  2. June 20, 2007 7:47 am

    and be comforted to know that when you give God your sincere desire to do His Will, He will enable, empower, and remind you, so that you can do so.

    Thanks be unto God and His Son Jesus Christ.
    nada

  3. June 21, 2007 11:06 am

    Intention might be a powerful word, but I am not scared of those. I like the idea of obedience being that we say “yes” when given options. I don’t want to live a life of only conforming. I desire to live a life of obedience, and I hope I can help others have that desire too.

Leave a Reply

