Skip to content

Who has the answers?

June 20, 2007

A few months ago I had a conversation with a leader at my church about being involved in ministry. I was trying to make a decision about whether it was right for me to be involved in a specific ministry I had been invited to join. He told me that he believed I was being hesitant about getting involved because I was scared and wasn’t trusting God. I on the other hand felt like I was trying to take time to prayerfully go to God and listen for his answer.

This situation raised questions that I continue to wrestle with:
Do we make plans and ask God to bless us in them?
Do we seek God and ask him to lead us?
Do we fail to join in, move forward, and trust because we are scared?
Does not joining in and moving forward reveal that we are scared and not trusting?

The answer to all of these is probably yes at times and no at other times. How do we determine if we are trusting or fearing? Asking God to lead us sounds like the right plan, but what do we do when he is silent?

It is questions like these that cause us to wrestle with what we believe, who we are, and how we are going to live. The answers may not always be easy to find, but the trail we walk down can be an amazing journey. Are you standing at a crossroads wondering which way to go? Don’t stop completely. Keep seeking, learning, asking, and trying. You never know when the greatest surprises might appear around the next corner!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. rogueminister permalink
    June 20, 2007 7:46 pm

    It seems to me this is when community discernment comes in. Often times people can hear God more clearly when it is about someone else becuase their own inhibitions arent in the mix in the same way. I would seek out people I know to be prayerful, filled with the spirit, and full of wisdom. Hopefully they can help you hear what God is saying to you.

  2. June 23, 2007 7:04 pm

    Thanks for the word of encouragement. I think your advice is very sound, and I try to do that as much as I can. Having others actively involved in our life on a very regular basis to support, encourage, and guide us with wisdom is so important. I have found it difficult to find many who want to invest with others in this way, but I truly believe it is God’s heart for our relationships and for community. Thanks for sharing with me.

  3. C.L. Mareydt permalink
    January 25, 2008 6:48 am

    Thoughtful questions for everyone to consider in many areas of life.

    It would seem we either join or not according to exactly ‘where’ our faith is. We are constantly growing “from faith to faith” as the scriptures so eloquently remind us. What was needed yesterday, may not be required today. Always a continual journey with God.

Leave a Reply

