Skip to content

Restoring the damage done

June 26, 2007

My church is doing a series on relationships and I am preparing a lesson for next Sunday on restoration, the act of bringing something back to a former, original, or normal state. When I teach it must come from my heart so I am thinking a lot about what it means to restore a relationship, and about God’s heart for us and his role in that restoration.

On Sunday I heard a lesson on living honestly with others where we were challenged to daily ask if we had made bad decisions today and to recognize the impact those had on others. On the way home I heard a song in a new light. Here are the words to Damage Done by Shaun Groves.

Have you made decisions that impacted others, even if it was unintentional, where you need restoration? Have you struck the match and burned a bridge? Have you drawn your sword when you should have opened up your heart and shown love instead? What can you do to find restoration in your relationships? Maybe it starts with three little words. I am sorry.

Damage Done by Shaun Groves
Yesterday, once again
I fell down and broke a friend
Words were said, out of place
I hope that it’s not too late
To right this wrong
Cause I was wrong

I struck the match
I burned the bridge
I’m to blame for all of it
I lost your trust
When I drew my sword
This distance is my just reward
Can I undo the damage done?

Couldn’t sleep, part of me
Was crying out from hurting you
So afraid, you would say
There is nothing I can do
To right this wrong
I was wrong
(Chorus)
Listen friend, I must confess
You deserved more
I gave you less
It tears me up that I let you down
I’m sorry
I’m sorry
(Chorus)
The damage done
I’m sorry

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2007 6:29 pm

    Thanks for sharing this song with folks. I wrote it after sticking my foot in my mouth with a friend and causing what I thought was irreparable harm to our relationship. Since then a lot of folks have written to say they used it to ask forgiveness from spouses, friends and parents. Glad it meant something to you too.

    -Shaun

  2. June 26, 2007 7:48 pm

    Shaun, I hope it wasn’t irreparable harm. With God’s help it shouldn’t be irreparable, but I know how hard and painful the process of restoring things can be. The song is shaping a lot of my lesson for this weekend to the youth at my church. Thank you for the ministry you have and the music you create. Several of your songs have touched my heart and life in profound ways. I shared a piece of that a few months ago at https://theoutlet.wordpress.com/2007/02/19/right-now-god-i-dont-want-to-leave-unchanged/. Blessings to you as you continue to follow where God is leading you, and thank you for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

