Skip to content

Are we trying to make others like us?

July 8, 2007

“By failing to let others be themselves before God and move at their own pace, we inevitably project on to them our own discomfort with their choice to live life differently than we do.  We end up eliminating them in our minds, trying to make others like us, abandoning them altogether or falling into a “who cares?” indifference toward them.  In some ways the silence of unconcerned can be more deadly than hate. Like Jesus said, unless I first take the log out of my own eye, knowing that I have huge blind spots, I and dangerous.  I must see the extensive damage sin has done to every part of who I am -emotion, intellect, body, will, and spirit – before I can attempt to remove the spec from my brothers eye (see Matthew 7:1-5).” (Emotionally Healthy Spirituality by Peter Scazzero)

How do you treat others? Are they people with needs, desires, feelings, emotions, and brokenness, or do you treat them as objects or a means to an end? Does it very from person to person? Do you treat some people well but your co-worker, neighbor, relative or in-law, or maybe that punk teen who drives loudly through your neighborhood don’t deserve that same level of respect?

The second greatest commandment is to love your neighbor as yourself. Do you like to be treated as an object? If we expect others to change how they relate to us, we first need to change how we relate to them. Who can you look at differently and start changing your attitude and actions toward?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2007 6:48 pm

    I have really enjoyed finding your blog, and this post hits the nail on the head for me! I think that relationships are the key to spreading the gospel~and that means with people who don’t “look” like us! and I think that *every person* deserves to be treated with respect…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. July 19, 2007 7:34 pm

    Thanks for stopping by and visiting Sandi. Loving those who aren’t like us can be difficult but I find it really rewarding. You are so right that everyone deserves respect!

Leave a Reply

