Skip to content

Love…sincere, deep, and from the heart?

July 12, 2007

I have been thinking about love a lot lately. When someone says the word “love” what do you think of? It is something you can easily define?

My church has been using that term a lot in its teachings over the last few months, but I realized this week that no one has defined how it is being used. Are we using the same definition of love? When I say I love someone, I should treat my neighbor with love, or all I do should be done in love does that mean the same thing to someone I am talking to?

Christians often us the word love to refer to how we should treat each other. I think most people assume that others know what it means to love someone, and yet the expectations we carry about what that looks like might vary significantly. During my quiet time this morning I spent time in 1 Peter 1. The author expresses that the audience of his letter have sincere love for each other, but he then challenges them to love deeply from the heart.

“Now that you have purified yourselves by obeying the truth so that you have sincere love for your brothers, love one another deeply, from the heart.” (1 Peter 1:22)

Do we love without loving deeply and from the heart? If so, how can we change so we are learning and growing in our quest to become more holy?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

