Skip to content

Where do you find truth?

July 23, 2007

My past week has been filled with exposure to a lot of different points of view, outlooks on life, and interpretations of truth. I don’t know if I have ever been so impacted by the huge variations of beliefs that exist out there and moved by the conviction believers of each thought pattern show. Here are a few of the places I have visited.

Two and a half years ago my belief system and confidence in all I held dear was tremendously shaken, and in many ways shattered. I have spent a great deal of time since then examining exactly what I believe, why I believe it, and working through (often painfully) the areas of doubt and lack of understanding that remain.

This week has show me exactly how misguided we can be if we aren’t grounded in the truth, and if we don’t know why we believe. We are influenced by things around us, whether we admit it or not. Radical views, religiosity, anger, bitterness, division, and judgment only hurt others. I have never been more convinced that Christ’s message of love and acceptance are what this world really need, only it is needed without all the trappings man puts on top of it. Quite simply, it boils down to a message my church has been speaking lately….Love Wins.

Where do you find truth? Are you sure it is truth? What if you are wrong?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2007 11:20 pm

    I posted a few days ago this very question!

    http://jonfeatherstone.wordpress.com/2007/07/22/how-do-we-know-anything-at-all/

    For Christians, where you find truth tends to stop and start with the Bible.

    You ask “What if you are wrong?” I don’t think anyone on the planet is either all wrong or all right. We’re all a mixture!
    Jon

  2. July 24, 2007 3:04 pm

    I guess I would disagree with your comment about truth starting and stopping with the Bible, but then as I have said on your site I struggle at times with calling myself a Christian. There are people who believe in the Christian religion who hold that point of view, but most of the people I tend to share with believe truth comes from God, and the Bible is just one piece of how that can be experienced. I am not a believer of religion, but I am a seeker of truth, and life with God.

    I appreciate the struggle you show and the questions you pose. They make me think and challenge me even more to check myself and what I am believing and sharing with others. I am a mixture of right and wrong, but I hope that every day I can more one step closer to the point of knowing what is “right” and what it “truth.”

Leave a Reply

