Skip to content

What is our response to death?

August 11, 2007

Compassionate hands

I find that when someone I believe is a Christian is dying I can find peace because I have confidence that person has found truth and is going on to a better life, an eternal life. When someone I know is not a believer or who I don’t feel certain is a believer is dying I find my emotions are all mixed up. How are we supposed to respond?

A few minutes ago I received a call about a relative who has had a major stroke. The doctors said there is nothing they can do and they have called in hospice care. The call was to ask me to pray that my uncle will let go and that this will be over quickly. Is that the right prayer when I don’t think he is a believer? What should our response be? I am not living in the same state so I can’t quickly go visit and I have to rely on God to use others, probably people I do not know.

Should we be fighting for people’s salvation up until the very last second, even if the person we are fighting for might not cognitively be able to make a choice for God any longer? Is there a time where we stop fighting and just accept the situation? Would Christ stop fighting for us?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    August 11, 2007 2:42 pm

    Absolutely we should keep praying for their salvation until the very end. We really have no idea of what he may or may not be aware of in his unconscious state.
    I will pray for you and your family.

  2. heaintthroughwithmeyet permalink
    August 11, 2007 4:37 pm

    Yes we should pray, we do not know what happens in this persons heart until he takes his/her last breath. Only God knows, and he might be right now talking to this persons heart, and we will never know!

    Pray for your uncle SHerie!!

    Love andrea

  3. August 11, 2007 5:20 pm

    Thank you. Either way, the decision is over. My uncle passed away this afternoon. Thankfully we were able to get he and his wife moved from their home into an assisted living situation a few months ago so my aunt will have support and someone to watch out for her, and I will continue to pray for her salvation.

Leave a Reply

