Skip to content

A servant?

August 20, 2007

Yesterday I received a thank you note from someone that started with “You are a servant.” The words struck me for two reasons. First, I often feel very selfish and feel like I am not doing enough to give to and care for others. My life tends to revolve around me and I have to actually work to find ways to give to others and reach beyond myself because I don’t have natural outlets for that. Second, my understanding is that being a Christian is being a servant so for someone to thank me for being a servant seems like they are thanking me for living out my walk with God.  Such a strange thing!

I looked up the word servant and found it defined as: a person in the service of another; One who expresses submission, recognizance, or debt to another; a person who serves others.

Are we called to be servants, or we already a servant “of Christ” because we believe? Isn’t there a spiritual gift of service? Does that mean that anyone who serves has the gift of service? Some people seem to serve without boundaries and limits while others have to be directed and guided in what to do. Is that the difference between a gift and just having a willing heart?

Enough thinking and dwelling on my own confused thoughts. I guess I should truly do something beyond my own selfish desires, and actually put this to action by serving someone else today. It is good to keep in mind who I am serving and why though.

Galatians 1:10 Am I now trying to win the approval of men, or of God? Or am I trying to please men? If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a servant of Christ.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

