Skip to content

What will it take for me to learn?

August 20, 2007

Yesterday at church I was watching some of our youth who were really into the worship time, but the worship was filled with loud and upbeat music. It left me thinking of how easy it is to get caught up in the music and the presentation and forget the words we are actually singing. 

My latest favorite song of worship (I don’t think a song has to be a “worship” song to be a song that is used to worship.) is Wait For Your Rain by Todd Agnew. It has been running through my head and stereo a lot in the last week.

Some of the words are:
I throw myself on Your mercy
I throw myself at Your feet
I throw my filth on the grace of One whose beauty is beyond me
And I wait
I wait for Your rain to fall
The waves of Your grace to wash over me
I wait for Your rain to fall
Strange how forgiveness comes so easily
When I call Your name
And wait for Your rain

I have been left to question if I really mean what I sing and have been asking  how I can learn to connect more with the music? When I worship whether on my own, at church, or even when I lead worship do I really mean it? Am I willing to turn the words I say into action? I know for me the line “I throw my filth on the grace of One whose beauty is beyond me And I wait” really made me stop to think. Do I wait??? Not often enough. I might wait for a moment but then I grab it all back and try again on my own strength and with my own ability. I wonder what it will take for me to learn!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

