Skip to content

Are you safe or out?

September 10, 2007

Romans 9:2-3 “I have great sorrow and unceasing anguish in my heart. For I could wish that I myself were cursed and cut off from Christ for the sake of my brothers, those of my own race.”

What an incredible love Paul had for others. Not only did he allow his heart to feel sorrow and pain, but he actually wished pain and loss for himself for the sake of others. Love like that is incredibly rare.

As I read that scripture last week my mind wandered to those I look past every day. Every day there are co-workers I just want answers or resources from, but never show genuine care to. There are people at my church every week that I smile at or even speak to, but never ask how they are doing or how I could be involved in their lives. There are people in need all over the world that I know about but refuse to reach out to support and care for.

Paul was willing to give up not only his life here on earth, but his eternal life for others. What are we willing to give up to even see someone have the chance to grow closer to God or have a small need met. I have been challenged this week to step out of my mediocrity and to live a life that is truly worthy of the call God made on my life. Are you playing it safe and protecting all you have, or are you willing to step out, love someone, give something, and share what you have?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

