Skip to content

Search me…am I willing to hear the truth?

September 17, 2007

In the church we talk about the truth a lot and tend to profess that we know and speak the truth, but are we willing to really hear it? Are we willing to stop professing we know it long enough to listen and hear that there is more to learn?

Psalm 139:23-24 says, “Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.”

We sing a song at church that always makes me deeply uncomfortable because of the truth it speaks: “And I’ll never know how much it cost to see my sin upon that cross.” If you allowed God to open you up and search you, what would he find? If he tested you, tried you, molded you, and lead you how would it turn out? What are your offensive ways that cost Christ so much upon the cross? If God pointed them out to you, would you be willing to deal with them?

I have a sign that hangs on my door to remind me of a key concept every day before I leave my home. It reads “Whatever It Takes”. I want to follow God….whatever it takes…even through those times when what it takes is having God show me my offensive ways. Are you willing to follow God even if he searches you, knows you, and shows you your offensive ways? Are you ready to hear the truth? The truth is we need a savior, some days more than others, but we are always in need. The truth is we have one!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

