Skip to content

How you love others…

September 30, 2007

loving hands

“How you love others is how you love God.” (Rob Bell in “Bullhorn” a Nooma film)

How are you at loving others? I know I do a pretty lousy job at it. Every day I let people down. I fail to give them what they need from me. I fail to love them unconditionally. I fail to hold others accountable. I fail to encourage and uplift them. If how I love others is a representation of how I love God I have a lot of work to do.

Often we want to think our relationship with God is not interdependent with our human relationships, but what if it our human relationships are a representation of our heavenly relationships? What do your human relationships tell you about your relationship with God? What does your relationship with God tell you about your human relations?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    December 18, 2007 1:52 pm

    Is there any way you can tell me where you got the picture ‘loving hands’ that you posted in your blog? I know someone who was inspired by the image and I am looking to find out who it belongs to.

  2. December 18, 2007 8:21 pm

    Amanda,
    Thank you so much for this question. I noticed this image had received some hits lately and I have been feeling the responsibility to give the true owner of this image the credit for it as that is what is both right and legal.

    I believe I accessed the image at Trinity Western University at http://www.twu.ca/life/lead/serving-hands.jpg however I also find the image at several blogs and at this online gallery site http://www.hebrwarq.com/vbgallery/displayimage.php?album=lastup&cat=10088&pos=25. The title of the image I saved is actually serving-hands.jpg.

    I wish I knew the true owner as I am not sure it is either of the links I gave above, but this will at least get you closer to the right place. I too was inspired by the image.

    Blessings,
    Sherie

  3. May 10, 2008 3:12 pm

    Sherie –

    I was searching for a picture depicting “serving” and I found the one from this post on google. Great picture and great site by the way. I did use this picture for my post. I’m not sure how to give the credit where it is due but hopefully the original creator of this picture is satisfied that it is blessing others.

    Tony

  4. May 11, 2008 7:05 pm

    Thanks for the visit and comment Tony. I am glad you enjoyed the photo. It seems to catch a lot of people’s attention, as it did mine when I saw it. God has so much to offer each of us, and it reminds me to daily open myself up to receive what God has to give me.
    ~Sherie

  5. Jacob Robinson permalink
    July 23, 2008 6:00 pm

    Hello,

    I am from the Salvation Army in Queensland Australia.
    I oversee a ministry called ‘The Salvo’s A.R.K.’ which stands for Acts of Random Kindness.
    We go around our communities under the guidence of the Spirit, and where we see a need, and feel led, we go and show God’s love by mowing and cleaning up yards.
    I have just had to source a trailer for the transport of our equipmentand I will be getting some signwriting done up to dispaly who we are.
    As this is a free service that we offer,I am writing to you to request permission to use this picture on our signage.
    FYI.
    What I propose to do is:
    -to place the salvation Army branding at the top of the picture.
    – extend the width of the picture so that it will spann the width of the trailer.
    -to place writing above the picture that states the heart of what we do, ‘Heart to God, Hand to Man’.
    -and writing beside the hands that say, ‘Acts of Random Kindness’.

    While this sounds like we are doing alot to the picture we are not really.

    If you require a copy of the proposed signage, email me and I will attach a copy of it for you.

    I thankyou for your support as we continue to serve God.

    As I have the signwriter waiting to hear from me, I would appreciate your reply.
    Thankyou.

    Captain Jacob Robinson.

  6. August 12, 2008 7:24 pm

    Captain Jacob,
    I am sorry it has taken me so long to get back to you. I have been in the process of moving to another part of America and it has taken me some time to get settled.

    Unfortunately I can’t grant you the access you desire because I do not own the image you referenced. As shown at https://theoutlet.wordpress.com/2007/09/30/how-you-love-others/#comment-1017 I have used the image that was posted at one of two other locations. I don’t know if either of them own the copyright, but they might be able to lead you to the person/organizatio that does.

    Best of luck in our search.
    Sherie

  7. January 7, 2009 1:56 pm

    Is the above image your own? I’d like to use it for a graphic- nothing commercial. Please e-mail me back when you get the chance. Thank you!!!

    • January 7, 2009 9:54 pm

      Kim, the image is not my own. As I asnwered in aother comment I downloaded it from one of two others sites. I don’t know who exactly owns it. I wish I did know the photographer as they created a moving image. The picture has caught a lot of people’s attention and is the most visited item on my blog.

Trackbacks

  1. Parables Revisited: Hidden Treasure and the Pearl « King David

Leave a Reply

