Skip to content

The sword is always beaten by the spirit…..

October 10, 2007

A friend posted this quote on their blog today: “Do you know what astonished me most in the world?  The inability of force to create anything. In the long run the sword is always beaten by the spirit.  Soldiers usually win battles and generals get the credit for them.  You must not fight too often with one enemy, or you will teach him all your art of war. If they want peace, nations should avoid the pin-pricks that precede cannon shots.” Napoleon Bonaparte (1769-1821)

The quote really hit me. Lately I have felt like my spirit has been beaten and I have been having to struggle through that battle. We are called to be soldiers, warriors, and ambassadors for Christ, but when our spirits are broken, beaten, and struggling we are either taken out or rendered pretty useless in that process. Our swords can be beaten if we are not taking care of our spirits. What have you done today or even this week to take care of your heart and spirit?

For the last few weeks I have approached worship with a very different attitude. I have recognized that I often come to worship and respond how it might make others around me comfortable. I often feel that others do not want to hear or know the truth of our struggles, our stories, or our questions and doubts. Instead I have been honest with God about my struggles, fears, insecurities, hopes, dreams, and passions. I have become very aware of my sinful and broken ways, the baggage and pain I have carried around and have not dealt with, and my hopes for a different path and desire to be all that God has made me to be. I had been allowing my spirit to be beaten which means my sword has been useless, but now I am trying to change that.

Are you ready to be all that God made you to be? If so, what is the shape of your spirit? We can’t neglect it if we want succeed. Our success starts in our own hearts and minds. What is in your heart and mind?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

