Skip to content

Theology or practicality?

October 10, 2007

One of the pastors at my church seems to really like theology. He speaks of all these concepts, writings, and theories. I am not against them, but honestly I don’t understand them. I have a hard time talking to him because I feel like he speaks a different language. He speaks in big words that I would classify as “Christianese” (epistles, Christology, missiology, ecclesiology). A new post on his blog ended with the question “What does a trinitarian-informed ecclesiology look like?” HUH?!?!?

I know that God talks to us differently and made us all differently, but how can we bridge the gaps that exist when our beliefs, interpretations, and understandings of Christ and how to live as a Christian vary so much? I have a hard time even pronouncing the question he posed, and I don’t know how to even address a question like that when I can’t figure out how to love someone without conditions when they hurt me, stop being selfish, and learn to see myself through God’s eyes instead of listening to the words of the world.

One Comment leave one →
  1. fourthplace permalink
    October 22, 2008 10:14 am

    Thanks for the thoughts. Great stuff!

Leave a Reply

