Skip to content

Why should God give you more?

November 26, 2007

Every day I tend to go to God and ask him to do something for me or help me with something. I am learning to stop though and ask myself, “Why should God give me more if I haven’t been faithful with what he has already given to me?”

“Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.” (1 Peter 4:10) What if I am not using my gifts to serve others? My selfishness often kicks in and I want someone to give to me or I want some pay back for what I do. I want to be a selfless giver, but honestly I am not.

Christ told us a parable about using what we have been given. In the parable there were two different types of people. Those that were faithful with what they had been given and those that weren’t. To those that were faithful “ “His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’ ” (Matthew 25:21). To those that were not faithful he called them wicked, lazy servants.

As this Christmas season is upon us we will be faced with numerous decisions about what we can have, what we can do for ourselves, or what others could give to us. I want God to hear my prayers, to know my desires, and to answer me when I cry out to him. He wants me to be faithful with all the answers and blessings he has already given to me. He has every right to call me a wicked, lazy servant, but I hope that today I am learning one more piece about what it will take to one day hear him say, “Well done, good and faithful servant!”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

