Skip to content

Squandering what God has given

January 23, 2008

I have been reading a book, Culture Shift by Robert Lewis and Wayne Cordeiro. In the book Wayne tells a story of when  friend came to him with an offer to entice him to leave Hawaii and take a job at his church somewhere else in the country. He said, “If you don’t think Hawaii is the right place for all the potential still inside of you, then don’t squander God’s gifts.  Hand the baton to someone who will maintain the church, and come help us.”

I have been challenged through this brief story to examine my life and to ask some hard questions. What does it mean to be squandering God’s gifts? Am I squandering God’s gifts? If I am squandering His gifts am I willing to make a change? Do I love God enough to seek to do the best with all he has given me?

God has given us each a variety of skills, gifts, and talents. Christ tells several parables about using our gifts, squandering what we have been given, and preparing for the future. When you think of your job, your family, how you are involved in your church, and where you spend your free time can you say that you are using your gifts fully, or are you wasting what you have been given? In looking at my job and my involvement in my church I know that I am not living up to how God would like to see me live. My job does not allow me to use the talents and gifts I have been given, and my current involvement in my church is a poor representation of who God has made me.

Now comes the even harder questions. What can I and will I do about it? I already am considering stepping out of the ministry I have been involved in to seek other opportunities where I can be used more fully, but it means leaving a type of ministry I am passionate about and have been involved with for a long time. At work, it means working harder to open the doors for new opportunities while also looking outside of my current situation and exploring new avenues and opportunities where I can be serve and share in new ways. I am looking at changing my living situation so I can open my home to be a place of ministry, changing my schedule to free up more time that could be used for God’s plans, and adjusting my priorities so I will be more flexible and spontaneous when God brings opportunities my way.

Are you at the right place for all the potential still inside of you to be used? Wayne’s response was that he was at the right place, but it took work and dedication to make it happen. Will you be like him? If you are not at the right place, what change will you make?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 5:03 am

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    • September 10, 2009 5:40 am

      Welcome! I am glad you stopped by and found something that touched you. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me.

Leave a Reply

