Skip to content

The conversation topic

February 2, 2008

Colossians 4:6 “Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.”

Are your conversations always full of grace? I know I have a long way to go to get there. I have my agendas, my priorities, my emotions, my likes and dislikes and often they over power any grace that may have been in my heart and mind. Are my conversations always seasoned with salt? Nope, I miss the mark there too. Sometimes the fact that scripture is known as “living and active” can mean that the truth it contains can leave us almost feeling pain due to how far we are from where we should be.

Last Sunday at church I had the pleasure of speaking with two separate ladies that are relatively new to the church, one being brand new. Those conversations were full of grace and seasoned with salt. We didn’t just speak of the weather or surface level things, but we spent time speaking of God and what he was doing. It left me reflecting on how often I can go to church and never have anyone speak to me about God (nor do I speak of Him). If we can not even speak of God when we gather as Christians in a safe environment like a family gathering, how are we going to share Him with others that don’t know about Him?

I am challenged right now to watch my conversations. Not only do I want them to be full of grace, and seasoned with salt, but I want to reach a point where I am truly talking about the relationship that I believe is the most important to me….my walk with God. May my tongue always speak of you Lord.

Psalm 35:8 “My tongue will speak of your righteousness  and of your praises all day long.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

