Skip to content

Christ challenged us to disciple

February 12, 2008

What does it mean to “go and make disciples of all nations”?  Being part of a young church plant there are a lot of programs that we have not yet put into place and others that still need to be adjusted before they will thrive. In the midst of that I am finding that not all of my spiritual growth needs are being met so I have started looking around for other options to fill in those gaps. I have found bible studies and small groups, which are wonderful programs, but I have been left asking myself if they will disciple me.

These words are some of Christ’s last words to those alive on earth at the time of his death and resurrection. He continued with “teaching them to obey everything I have commanded”. The words were given to those who had been called disciples, but they were also the first people to form churches. Has the church become a place where we all are making disciples and teaching others to obey everything? If I take a critical look at the ministry I am actively involved with to youth we are doing really poor in this area.

Are there churches that are making disciples? What sets them apart from those who are not?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

