Skip to content

Church, what’s the purpose?

February 28, 2008

I have been thinking about church a lot lately. There are a growing number of people having questions and concerns about my church, a two year old church plant. I absolutely love the values it is founded on, but as things are walking out I don’t see the values exhibited in meaningful ways and don’t see the leadership I thought was there. Lots of questions have raced through my head. Should we go to church for others or for ourselves? When things don’t seem to be working should we look for a new church or should we be sticking it out and trying to be part of a solution? No church is perfect, and there will be things about any church we don’t like or that don’t fit us, but is there a point we should use to determine a church/environment is unhealthy or not working and it is time to move on?

While wrestling with those questions I have seen several reports about where America and the church is headed in the next couple decades.

  • By 2050 America is going to be over 50% hispanic
  • America is changing from being a Protestant (51%) nation
  • More than 25% of people have left the faith of their childhood
  • Approximately 10% of all American’s are ex-Catholics
  • Most converts to evangelical churches were raised Protestant
  • We may be headed for the greatest recession since 1929

In light of this list and the questions above, what is the church and what is its purpose? Is the church here for us, or are we here for the church?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2008 9:37 pm

    the churches purpose is to get the body of Christ together to worship God.
    church should not be horizontal, it should be vertical. Looking upward to God to give Him glory.
    If your church is preaching Gods word, stay. If not, run to some place that is.
    Church as a body of believers will always let you down because its made up of sinners. Its never perfect. But you can find a church bldg and leaders who are Godly men/women willing to preach the word and shepherd the flock.just my 2 cents
    good luck….kristina

  2. February 29, 2008 11:02 am

    Thank you for stopping by and sharing your heart Kristina. I think what you are saying is where I am struggling with my church. We talk vertically about what should happen horizontally, but I don’t find the values walked out and when I try to I am finding opposition. The preaching is about God’s word, but is kind of watered down or soft in certain ways, and the Word doesn’t seem to be followed by actions. I believe what the Bible says about Christians being different from the world, and that we need to be doers, not just hearers. I am trying to live an intentional life to move closer and closer to God’s standards, and to glorify Him in all I do.

    I recently started listening to some great teaching from another church out of state and it seems to be adding to the questions about my church because the other church is not just providing strong teaching, but they truly are walking out things that make them different not only from American culture, but even from many other churches. That draws me to them and makes me want to listen and learn even more.

Leave a Reply

