Skip to content

A new life

March 9, 2008

Romans 10:9-10 “That if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you confess and are saved.”

If someone was to ask you point blank today if Jesus was Lord of your life do you know how you would answer? It seems to me that it is easier for us to accept Christ as Savior than as Lord. I made a commitment to call Jesus Savior and Lord almost 24 years ago. I have never forgotten that he is my Savior, but I have definitely lived like he is not my Lord at times.

For the past year or so God has been showing me that he wants more of my life. He doesn’t want to be just a friend, just an occasional companion, or someone who is only invited into part of my life. He wants me to love him with ALL of my heart, soul, mind, and strength because that is how he loves me. The scripture above says that if we confess with our mouth and believe in our heart we will be saved. I am not confessing out of fear of what not being saved means, or even because I want to be saved because I know I do not deserve to be. I am confessing because I have such an incredible love for God that I want everyone to know that I love Him so deeply and want everything in my life to glorify him.

I am tired of living in mediocrity. I want to live a life focus on God’s heart and plan. At church today I was able to enter into worship more deeply than I have in a very long time. I was able to truly know God was present with me and to share with him. I was able to surrender like never before.

1 John 4:13-16 “We know that we live in him and he in us, because he has given us of his Spirit. And we have seen and testify that the Father has sent his Son to be the Savior of the world. If anyone acknowledges that Jesus is the Son of God, God lives in him and he in God. And so we know and rely on the love God has for us.”

I testify that God is the hope in my life, the purpose in my life, and my all. Today I surrendered my life, my whole life to him. I don’t know what is coming next, but I am willing to answer that call. Most people in my life, even those who call themselves Christians, won’t understand this, but that doesn’t matter. I am willing to give up my job, my home, my possessions, my relationships…whatever he would ask. I am willing to love and follow with ALL my heart, soul, mind, and strength. God, you have me, all of me. Use me to serve this world, to show your love, and to make an eternal difference. I want to be your servant, your steward, your hands and feet. Your love overwhelms me. I hope that my offering of a broken and open spirit will bring you praise and joy.

loving hands
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

